Where's the darkest and most moist place in the house? Fresh bread will grow mold faster. Mold grows on bread when it’s moist enough for it to grow on. In the first sample, the sealed bread should develop mold more slowly than the unsealed bread. When prospectors, pirates, pioneers and soldiers wanted to preserve bread for days or months, they made sure it was very dry. Lightly moistened bread stored in a warm, dark place should grow mold in about 7-10 days. Mold cannot survive at high temperatures either, making baking a good way of destroying mold. Same amount of mould for wet as Day 5. Mold is a heterotroph, so it does not need sunlight to create food. Meredith Juncker is a PhD candidate in Biochemistry and Molecular Biology at Louisiana State University Health Sciences Center. To minimize variability, make sure the temperatures of both environments are the same. Mould on bread is caused by a fungus. ", "I am a high school student, and although the difficulty level was not quite high enough, it gave very good ideas. Dry bread will eventually grow mold, but it will take much longer. What will happen if I don't seal the bags? With that in mind, possibilities include that the mold grew before you put the tortillas in the freezer, while they were cooling in the freezer, and after they were removed from the freezer. Aspergillus, Penicillium, Rhizopus and Neurospora crassa are a few of the thousands of mold spores that float around the kitchen looking for places to start colonies. Toasting bread will reduce its water activity 3. Making mold grow on bread is not only a great project for the local science fair, it also teaches the ins-and-outs of keeping your bread fresh. Fungi are saprophytes. When Does Mold Grow on Bread? Call (905)290-9101 6 Things You Need to Prepare For. You could also try adding more moisture to the slices of the bread, or use different amounts of lemon juice and sugar on the slices. Of course if you make your own and skip the preservatives, the br